Aprons from Men’s Shirts

I can’t believe this awesome post.

apron6

No only are there great photos of current aprons, there is a lovely old photo from the ’50s. They always warm my heart.

apron5

I need to keep track of this pattern so I will remember to make one for my friend RJ. When he turned 50 I gave him cufflinks and a tie clip, which matched a bracelet his wife had, which was really a stupid gift for a man whom I have never seen in a dress shirt and tie. Anyway, I owe him. And this apron will do the trick. He’s a grilling kind of man, loves the concept of re-use, re-cycle, etc., and is just humble and goofy enough to wear it (I hope).

Just one question: should I make the apron with or without the collar? I guess it depends on the shirt I find and the state of the collar. I bet the reason the apron was originally created was to re-purpose shirts after the collars were gone. You know how they get all rotted and nasty?

Leave a Reply

